the Concacaf Boys’ Under-15 Championship 2023

the Concacaf Boys’ Under-15 Championship the date of this tournament is August 6-13, 2023. The 2023 Concacaf Boys’ Under-15 Championship kicked off on Sunday in the Dominican Republic and Curacao, with 42 teams competing in three leagues for the regional title.

The tournament features teams from North America, Central America, the Caribbean and two guest nations from Asia: Qatar and Saudi Arabia.

The teams are divided into League A, League B and League C, with each league having its own format and schedule.

League A consists of 16 teams, split into four groups of four. The top two teams from each group advance to the quarterfinals, while the bottom two teams play in the play-offs. The quarterfinal winners move on to the semifinals and then the final, while the quarterfinal losers play in the classification matches.

League B has 20 teams, also split into four groups of five. The top team from each group advances to the semifinals, while the second and third-placed teams play in the play-offs. The semifinal winners play in the final, while the semifinal losers play in the classification match.

League C has six teams, playing in a single round-robin group. The top two teams advance to the final, while the third and fourth-placed teams play in the classification match.

The tournament started with a full slate of action in League A and League B on Sunday, followed by matches in all three leagues on Monday and Tuesday. The quarterfinals and play-offs for League A and League B took place on Thursday, while the semifinals and play-offs for League C were played on Friday. The finals and classification matches for all three leagues are scheduled for Sunday.

Concacaf Boys’ Under-15 Championship

Some of the highlights from the group stage include:

  • Mexico, Haiti, United States and Jamaica advancing to the semifinals of League A after defeating Puerto Rico, Canada, Guatemala and Honduras respectively in the quarterfinals.
  • Nicaragua, Saint Lucia, Martinique and Bermuda reaching the semifinals of League B after winning their penalty shootouts against Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Curacao and Barbados respectively in the quarterfinals.
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Martin, Dominica and Turks and Caicos Islands qualifying for the semifinals of League C after finishing as the top four teams in the round-robin group.
  • Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Cuba and El Salvador being eliminated from League A after losing their play-off matches against Panama, Costa Rica, Trinidad and Tobago and Dominican Republic respectively.
  • Bonaire, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Guadeloupe and Suriname being knocked out of League B after losing their play-off matches against Aruba, Grenada, Guyana and Cayman Islands respectively.

The tournament will conclude on Sunday with the following matches:

  • League A final: Mexico vs United States
  • League A third place match: Haiti vs Jamaica
  • League A fifth place match: Guatemala vs Honduras
  • League A seventh place match: Canada vs Puerto Rico
  • League B final: Nicaragua vs Saint Lucia
  • League B third place match: Martinique vs Bermuda
  • League B fifth place match: Antigua and Barbuda vs Belize
  • League B seventh place match: Curacao vs Barbados
  • League C final: Saint Vincent and the Grenadines vs Saint Martin
  • League C third place match: Dominica vs Turks and Caicos Islands
  • League C fifth place match: British Virgin Islands vs Anguilla

The 2023 Concacaf Boys’ Under-15 Championship is a biennial event that showcases the best young talent from across the region. The previous edition was held in 2021 in Florida, United States, where Mexico defeated United States 2-0 in the final to claim their fourth title. Tom Heinemann, who is now coaching the U.S. team at this edition, was part of that losing side as an assistant coach. He will be hoping to lead his team to a revenge victory against Mexico on Sunday.